My Vegan Bowl

Thanks for checking back in everyone! I’m enjoying every ounce of my sweet little London (my beautiful 3month old son); but A LOT has happened and changed in my life I definitely am feeling some blogging therapy coming on. Look for more posts to come. I wanted to share some recipes with you. The goal here isn’t to share complicated, unique, and in depth recipes. The goal here is to share doable, go-to recipes for the person with a busy lifestyle who still wants to properly nourish their body and explore all mother earth has to offer! I’ll will be sharing some easy vegan recipes with you. First let me tell you that I am LITERALLY making these up as I go. I’m in this journey RIGHT NOW! These aren’t post from last year or things I’ve tried for a long time. So join in on the fun! Lets rock our taste buds and get down with our bad selves! First, I feel the need to start this post out with a little terminology! For starters:

“I eat Vegan”

I eat Vegan. I am not (haven’t yet decided/committed to be) vegan. I sometimes think I’m in transition to becoming vegan then i’m like look Shrimp! Nom Nom Nom! For the most part I eat vegan and vegetarian with the exception of shrimp (which I probably have once a month but still somehow struggle with the idea of ever letting go of it). I admire vegans and greatly appreciate the discipline it takes many warriors to live such a beautiful lifestyle. For that reason, I won’t pretend to be something I’m NOT. In order to love MY body as best I can I’ve decide to eat vegan at least 4 days a week. Sometimes more, and occasionally on a bad week, less. I decided this because of personal reasons. If I decide to share them one day I will but that a whole other post! Here’s the main part: when I eat vegan I feel good. Heck I feel great! Physically and mentally great. MY body feels better when the things I put into it are based on a more than 50% vegan diet. That bring me to my next term:

MY BODY

Pay close attention to that 1st word. That’s the part I really want to sink in here. I’m not writing this for Sara, Jason, Nicole, Latisha, Jasmine, or Aria’s body. Because, I made up those names and I don’t know what’s best for your body. So please when I am saying something works or is best, please give me grace and know that for the most part I mean for MY body. So please consult your doctor and do your research to find out what’s best for YOUR body! Sure many of these ingredients, or the absence of harmful ingredients, will benefit the average human body; but many of us have other circumstance that may effect us. That brings me to my last term:

PCOS

This is my circumstance. PCOS, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, effect my body in many ways. Diet specific, PCOS makes it harder for me to lose weight and puts me at higher risk for things such as diabetes. Its so much more complex than that but I’ll keep it short. For me when it comes to PCOS one thing is certain; I eat better, I feel better, and my body responds better! Find out what your circumstances are and better yourself. Your body will thank you!

Alright, lets jump into the beautiful simplistic adventure of The Vegan Bowl.

whatIatelunch12-0600

Ingredients:
2/3 cooked brown rice

1/3 sliced cherry tomatoes

1 cup (thick) diced squash + zucchini

2 tablespoons red pepper hummus

1 tablespoons olive oil

sesame seeds

Soy sauce (If you’re bad)

Simplistic Adventure (Directions):

Add olive oil to skillet and let heat on medium for 2mins. Toss in squash + zucchini mix. (Tip: you can buy this mix from places such as Earth Fare already diced for those extra busy days!) Cover and let cook on low/med for 20-25mins. Add your cherry tomatoes at around 15mins. When finished switch to low and cook rice. Move rice to a bowl, a nice bowl if your a food photog fanatic like me. Top rice with veggies from skillet. Add in 2 tablespoons of red pepper hummus.

whatIatelunch10-0595For my local readers, I used Coastal Coffee Roasters red pepper hummus. I’ve never really heard of a non vegan hummus but I still called them for ingredient confirmation. I simply let them know I was preparing a vegan dish and they were more than happy to help. Their hummus is made in house. Don’t be afraid to Pinterest a recipe and hit your local farmers market to make your own recipe. #Shoplocal.

Next go crazy with sesame seeds (if you’ve got the time toast them in the oven first. I personally did not have the time. If you’re wondering why see top of this post where I mention I have a 3month old!). Stir bowl with spoon to mix flavors and enjoy!

Honest moment: Hey your girl added soy sauce. All things in moderation! Besides, it was a low sodium day for me so the addition wasn’t detrimental 🙂

 

Hope you like it! If you try it send me a pic or tag my Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/WGLblog 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “My Vegan Bowl

  1. Erica Nicole says:

    I love the journey you are on with overall health and well-being. Keep up the good work! I can’t wait to try your vegan bowl. It looks so simple but very yummy. After I try it your way, I may swap out the hummus for a baked sweet potatoe and instead of the brown rice, I may use quinoa (another healthy alternative).

    Erica:-)

    • Thank you! Just got blood work done today to check my iron, hormone, or other levels, so I know what plants and nutrients I need to increase or decrease in my diet… yumm I bet a mashed sweet potato would be great

Leave a Reply

