Walks With Mommy: Beach/Splash Session

One very important lesson I learned about parenthood, later than I would like to admit, is that life doesn’t have to look beautiful to BE beautiful. From the moment I started nesting, while still pregnant with my Traecee, I felt that organization made for smooth days in parenthood. I cant remember reorganizing the diaper bag several times a week after our son was born, constantly changing his bib after every spit up, and dare I say it but even throwing away onesies with the smallest stains on them. Even into the toddler transition, I can recall stressing over avoiding the side of the park with dried dirt on the slide because we has errands to run after our park visit. Let’s be honest I was trippin’ there for a bit ya’ll.

I love that I’m in a place now where I marvel at the dirty between his toes as we dine out, and giggle as I rattle to sand out of his curls after a walk on the beach. I definitely encourage splashing in the puddles on the walk to the car leaving the grocery store. It’s all beautiful! Each grain of sand, each speck of dirt, and each blade of grass that we carry away with us holds a memory. A memory more beautiful than any level of organization could ever hold. It’s proof that we lived and experienced the Earth today! Thank you Traecee for showing mommy how beautiful the mess can be.

Leave a Reply

